#ThrowbackThursday with LeTeisha Newton and Michelle Monkou for #TroubledHeroes Round 3

Let’s do a bit something different on Thursdays for this awesome duo of books! Each Thursday you will enjoy (oh this is embarrassing!) Q&A about the pasts of  One Hour Girl by yours truly and Kissed by a Warrior, the fabulous new book from USA Today Bestselling Author Michelle Monkou! Drum roll…and some wine please…I’me going to need it!

OHG 3D Render Jay Aheer BGOne Hour Girl

He thinks I’m his forever girl, I saw it in his eyes. I wished I could have slapped the look off his face and hit him with the same jarring finality I’d learned I didn’t mean shit.

I’m not a forever sort of girl.

I’m not even his for the night.

He’ll be lucky if I’m his for the next hour if he doesn’t pay me for it.

And then Royce Mattherson stormed my defenses. Took all the poison inside of me and pushed it out through my pores. He tasted the taint on my skin and still decided to love me. He terrifies me. Exhilarates me. Frustrates me.

And he always gets what he wants

Always

Add it to your TBR Pile Now!

Am I up first, again….GREAT! (sarcasm abounds)

 

1) Do you listen to music or watch TV when you write?

I listen to music. Sometimes I listen to particular songs on repeat while writing because they say something to me about the character. For example, for One Hour Girl I listened to Axela by Robert Raimon Roy. That just, oh man, speaks to me about Celeste and Royce. It’s him talking to her and that’s pure and simple.

2) What or who inspired the creation of the hero?

It depends on the hero. For Royce, it was Batman, true story. Look at that broken billionaire playboy that has so many levels, and is stuck in his past. He couldn’t save his parents so he saves Gotham out of that. Royce is a bunch like that. I don’t want to give too much away, but Royce didn’t save someone when he was younger, and Celeste becomes a project for him.  

3) What or who inspired the creation of the heroine?

Celeste came from me, pure and simple. She’s the victim of a traumatic past very similar to mine, and I wanted to give other women a voice who’ve gone through domestic violence or child abuse. I wanted them to understand that they can find love and learn to love themselves, because I did.  

4) Do you have a special place where you write?

Or create a special vibe for your space? Not really, my laptop and music are enough for me. As long as I can zone out, I’m good. If I’m in a quiet house or room, then I don’t even need to have my music on.

5) What makes you laugh out loud?

Stuff like #ThanksgivingClapBack on Instagram or #NoChill. I love hilarious memes and stand-up comedy. I’m a little off kilter with my sense of humor and that works for me.

Decoration

Kissedbyawarrior-customdesign-Jayaheer2015-3Drender (1)Kissed by a Warrior

Kissed By A Warrior is a romantic adventure set in post-modern Japan, where the criminal elements compete for the allegiance of a particular warrior, Kenzo Tenaka, because of his special gift.

Ken vows to protect his family and his true love, Nyah Reyes. But he must learn to navigate within the strict order of the clans or face the consequences of their displeasure.

As danger looms, Ken is forced to choose between duty or love. However, Nyah refuses to lose her warrior to ancient customs and clansmen’s whims.  Will they become a united front and face war or go their separate ways to maintain peace?

 

 

1) Are you a panster or plotter?

I used to write without a plot when I first started and then I went to tons of workshops where I learned to plot. Now I’m back to being more organic and only having an outline to guide, but allowing some creative freedom to get the story down.

2) Do you think of your heroine or hero first?

I think of the character who has the most to win or lose. Sometimes, there  is no gender in the beginning, as Icreate the problems. I then will decide if it will be a male or female centered story. For one story, I took all the usual male traits and gave it to the female. Then the significant other is created to complement, as an opposite. And then secondary characters are created to help or even hinder the protagonist’s goals.

3) What is necessary for you to get some good writing done?

Just the determination that I wouldn’t be disturbed. I may plan my day to minimize distractions, but life happens. However, I may choose not to react to the issues until I’m good and ready. I don’t have young children so I don’t have necessary responsibilities.

4) Ever trash large chunks of writing?

Yes, all the time. I don’t get all wigged out about it. I know that I may toss stuff. I shrug and move on.

5) Cats or dogs?

I grew up with dogs. Lately, it’s been cats. I can deal with both, although I’m allergic to cats. I’ve built somewhat of a tolerance for mine. But which I prefer? I’m neutral. They both are high maintenance in their own way.

 

Make sure you join the FB Release Day Party for the books HERE!


Hook Up

Check me out and come and chat it up with me!

Twitter l Facebook l Google+ l YouTube l Website

Join my Newsletter for exclusive reads and updates from bestselling authors!

Boundless

Join the Boundless Beauties Street Team to earn points toward fabulous prizes!

Leave a Reply

