Review of Poison Apology ~ By Lillian MacKenzie Rhine

Click Image to Purchase!

Guys, you know I can seem to rarely review a book that I am not willing to give five stars to, and I think that’s because if I don’t feel it deserves four or more stars, I won’t even review it. It’s hard for a writer to put so much effort into sharing a piece and then not getting good feedback from it, on a positive level. So, I just leave it, and don’t write a review. (Can you imagine, then, how many books I’ve read and NOT reviewed then when my review page isn’t very long!)

I am SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO happy I didn’t have this issue with Poison Apology. First off, let me say right now that I am #TeamJerIvy, and I wish Cay Winter’s was dead. Okay, that is all on that note, because I really want you to read this book to find out why.

logowhiteBGBut to the review! Poison Apology is the companion piece to the novel Winter’s Island.

In this novel, we meet Ivy Naidoo, an international model from Johannesburg, SA. She is in a world where she only lives for others, whether it her abusive parents or her greedy manager. With a last stitch effort to fight through her daily pain, she takes a modeling job in the beautiful Saint Thomas, VI. On her first day in the tropics, she meets a commanding man named Jeremiah Gatling that has an allure that she has never experienced before. She is so drawn in that it forever changes her life and existence as she knows it.

Jeremiah Gatling is a powerful man who is living his days out on the breathtaking island of Saint Thomas when he meets the woman who will always be bonded with him from first sight – Ivy Naidoo. He brings her into his world offering her love and loyalty. He frees her from her treacherous life only to implant her into his own personal Hell. He feels remorseful for making her live through his suffering but little does he know, some Hells are better than others.

The premise of the story doesn’t eve begin to explain the depths of these characters. I read the book in one sitting, non-stop, and was angry, crying, and wanting to throw things. At other times I was laughing, smiling, and so damn happy for this couple that I could just die. If you’ve read Winter’s Island, and you should, then you understand what happens in this book better than someone who just reads this one alone, and yet, the beauty of this novel is that you can read it without Winter’s Island and still understand the story. I say this so that those that haven’t read WI won’t feel like they can’t read this one. However, I do recommend reading both to get the full picture.

Click to Purchase!
Click to Purchase!

I have to admit, I read Winter’s Island first and had a set viewpoint on Jer and Ivy’s relationship. In a way…I hated Jer. I was too wrapped up in how I would feel in the real world with someone like him and just wanted him to go away, but he was an amazing villain in the story for making me feel that way. I read PA, and, suddenly, I’m rooting for the bad guy. I want the villains to prevail. I want them to get ahead because, after seeing it from their side, what they wanted wasn’t truly that bad, and their love was so intense it bled of the pages. To be loved like that. To have someone who is completely wrapped up into you that even distance is physically painful. And yet they were so broken, individually, they because very human in their reactions and actions throughout the novel

I felt like I was in a whirlwind they created, of intense love, desire, and need. Of hunger and decadence. And teetering on the knife’s edge of death. Like Bonnie and Clyde, these two were doomed from the start, and yet, you so didn’t want that to be the case.

Thank you, Lillian MacKenzie Rhine for sharing this with the world.

 

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54492-50-2187DE71F998449EDC15BDAAF7C49A8A

One thought on “Review of Poison Apology ~ By Lillian MacKenzie Rhine

Leave a Reply

